concierto alvaro torres pepin el obrero portada

Of the last romantic, my inner corny and the Russian soul

by
Reviews

I wear the "I'm never going to wear that shirt" shirt. I have to connect with my "inner cheo". What are they laughing at? Every person inhabits an "inner cheo" and you will not be the exception. To Juliette the intuition enchants her to hang a striped full bodysuit, that already in the place, between tens like her, will be the perfect camouflage. "Nothing compares to you, the deepest emotions," I hum and try in vain that some more melody comes to mind. "Tell me another one, Julie." But she tries, "oh, I have it on the tip of my tongue", and she doesn't get it. In full swing, when the Cuba of the nineties radiated it to exhaustion, my circle of friends never called it by name. "Álvaro Tarro", we told him; and from the waist down I don't transo: the same jeans and sneakers as always. Lorena insists on her catalog teenage attire: short sailor, yellow bomber pants and Converse tennis; He protests "why is this punishment right on the night of my fifteen?" and he isolates himself with his headphones. What would you do to convince her to listen to a romantic of the previous century if it is Generation Z and for these children there is no past, the world emerged in 2000 miraculously taking in Adam, Eve, animals, Internet and mobile phones ?

Álvaro Torres concert at the Karl Marx Theater, December 29, 2019. Photo Pepín el Obrero (José Antonio Medina)
Álvaro Torres concert at the Karl Marx Theater, December 29, 2019. Photo Pepín el Obrero (José Antonio Medina)

A crowd swarms on the sidewalks of the Karl Marx theater. There are many who are still looking for tickets, although - there I find out - the Salvadoran has offered an extra concert at five in the afternoon to meet the demand. I'm going to reporter for the magazine AM: PM and thanks to that I got the tickets. High heels, glitter blouses, long sleeves, people wear their best clothes and gather in the lobby lobby to take selfies in the photocall that, uploaded to the Facebook wall, will unleash the envy of their peers. The ad says "Alvaro Torres and his good friends" and the phonogram produced by the Cuban record label Egrem has also been put up for sale, where a large group of artists from the patio accompany the foreigner in the interpretation of his unfading songs. As of 2011 the singer has frequently come to the Island; It is said that in 2017 the Capitan San Luis Stadium was completed in an unprecedented way from those baseball duels between Industriales de Valle, Germán and Vargas, and the Pinar del Río de Contreras, Lazo and Linares. Do you know if in another country in the world, even in his native El Salvador, he maintains a similar popularity? Más romántico que nadie and 19 other songs of his flooded the Billboard Hot Latin Songs Billboard, but that happened from 1988 to 1998. His reign of a decade will have secured him a position in the Hall of Fame of Latin Composers, more in this today hurried and of fleeting stardoms, of indecent proposals to Romeo Santos in which “an adventure is more fun if it smells like danger”, of the hedonist Maluma who cries “happy the four”, and an unleashed J What demands “And the ring when? ”in the name of women, there seems to be no loophole for“ The Last Romantic ”—apodo that was won with the title of one of his songs. It is time to sit on the right and quite close to the stage, but a crane with its TV camera swinging just above our heads makes me doubt the “I swear you will not regret it”, intoned with an aged voice, perhaps also tired, for the little man with a frank and shy smile and dressed in a black suit that gives him a Latin American film cleric.

Álvaro Torres concert at the Karl Marx Theater, December 29, 2019. Photo Pepín el Obrero (José Antonio Medina)
Álvaro Torres concert at the Karl Marx Theater, December 29, 2019. Photo Pepín el Obrero (José Antonio Medina)

Álvaro does not have to work hard, just extend the microphone so that the public rushes “I do not lie to you when I say I love you”, with the strings and winds of the Symphony providing the musical atmosphere. "Make me forget you, please," he says and the keys pressed by Emilio Vega amplify the plea. The thin Paulo FG enters and "life brought us together, just like that." "For the time you made me happy," the opulent Haila accompanies, "I will continue to love you." The magical hands - as Torres describes them - of Frank Fernández describe "when a love ends" and, paradoxically, it is with Good Faith that it sounds: "Take it for granted, everything is paid here." An attractive Luna Manzanares is Chiquita Mía and “good friends” continue to arrive, like Waldo Mendoza; and there are others, such as Leoni Torres and Francisco Céspedes, who did not attend the meeting.

Álvaro Torres concert at the Karl Marx Theater, December 29, 2019. Photo Pepín el Obrero (José Antonio Medina)
Álvaro Torres concert at the Karl Marx Theater, December 29, 2019. Photo Pepín el Obrero (José Antonio Medina)

Álvaro sings "love is greater than love" and then confesses: "I love Cuba. They are a special audience. You fill my heart so much. Infinite thanks". The audience exposes their "heart in love", "passionate to delirium", and goes through all phases of love, from the idyll in which "I have lived waiting for you" to the spite in which "I will forget you because it is unfair for me to continue loving You". It is not so meek that he looks like a pastor because he demands “hug me, squeeze me, caress me and kiss me”, nothing less than the naughty Laritza Bacallao.

"Neither you nor ellaaaaaa", I find myself added to the choir and I fall in that all those letters were printed in some document filed in the memory involuntarily. In absolute intimacy with the inner cheo, reconciled with that sweet and reptilian being that inhabits me, when I accompany my stepdaughter to the bathroom and find the lobby, I ask Lorena to take my picture next to the singer's poster. I raise a shoulder, put my hands in my pockets, imitating it, the mobile clicks and I imagine my post on the social network with the comment "Lover of life ...".

Álvaro Torres concert at the Karl Marx Theater, December 29, 2019. Photo Pepín el Obrero (José Antonio Medina)
Álvaro Torres concert at the Karl Marx Theater, December 29, 2019. Photo Pepín el Obrero (José Antonio Medina)

Inside you hear "take this beloved country song" and I hasten to return to the womb of the theater, where flags of Cuba and El Salvador have sprouted in the background of the set. "It is my heart that inspires," resonates, and I remember the Russian soul. You know about the Russian soul, don't you? What is said about Pushkin, Tolstoy, Sholojov and the whisper of the wind, the breath of morriña, the yellowish romanticism of the broad steppes ... Well, I think that not everything is fun and drum and that our Latin soul is also "Written with nostalgia and melancholy." I wonder if Álvaro Torres will know ... That there lies the key to his survival, in how much Russian soul we have.

Help Magazine AM: PM remain a self-managed project with editorial independence.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed .

Latest from Reviews

Diseño e ilustraciones: Edel Rodríguez (Mola)

Llegando a Capitalia

Los amigos… los (buenos) amigos siempre te sorprenden con música para vibrar.
Ilustración de portada: Diana Carmenate

Magazine AM:PM no. 5

El quinto número de Magazine AM:PM sorprenderá en cuarentena a muchos de
Al2 El Aldeano y Silvito El Libre. Foto: Tomada de las redes sociales de Aldo.

The neighborhood poets club

Review of the album "El Club de los poetas del barrio" by Cuban rappers Ald2 and Silvito el Libre.
en_US
es_ES en_US
Go to Top